• Knit and Crochet Photos

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Meta

  • All graphics and texts displayed on this website are protected by copyright and may not be copied, mirrored, reproduced, altered or redistributed in any form without the written permission of the copyright holder. By entering this website, you signify your agreement to abide bythese terms of use. Copyright© 2006-2010 Chelle K. aka blindpurls All Rights Reserved

Recovering from a yarn attack!

I can’t believe it, but I’m  almost knitting monogamously on a project!  I say almost because I occasionally have picked up and done a few rounds on a pair of socks that I’m knitting for mini-me.  I’ve been working on this lovely cowl pattern Norway (The first pattern of International Year of the Scarf by designer Ilga Lega) It’s more like a fake Möbius infinity scarf that’s all really popular at the moment.  I’m using Rowan Calmer in Onyx as the main colour and Sweet Georgia Silk Taffy in Midnight Show for the CC.  I am in love!  I named my Norway, Norwegian Goth(rav project page link).  I was finished yesterday….really I was.  That was until I looked at the pattern properly!  I had written the pattern into a notebook since I am out of printer paper.  Some how I had missed the stripes between the dash and dot fair isle sections!  See here, notice something?

If you guessed no stripe section between the fair isle patterns, you are correct (here have a cookie)!  Here I thought I was ready to graft the two ends together after a week of lovely no-stress knitting.  *sigh* I thought about just leaving it as is and call it an added design feature, but after looking at it for a minute or two I decided I had to rip it back to the error and fix it.  Yes, I’m not kidding you I ripped back black yarn and picked up all the stitches without really any problems!  The knitting gods were with me despite the fact that I was sick with a bad sinus cold.  Oh did I mention I had a sinus headache from hell yesterday?  I can’t believe I pulled it off.  Here are pictures of my Norwegian Goth when I pulled out the needles, then after I had picked up all the stitches.

BEFORE

AFTER

See that little ball of silk that was all that I lost when I had to cut into the CC stripe since I had weaved in the end really well!  Not to bad, it could have been worse.  There was one small hiccup after picking up all the stitches somehow I had completely forgotten to make sure that I was at the beginning of the round before I started knitting away on the stripes.  Oops!  I managed to fool myself till I had finished all the stripe repeats and was about to start the fair isle pattern again.  I really looked at it and realized my mistake.  So last night I spend some more time tinking back to the beginning of the stripe pattern again.  After all that I was not going to take my chances ripping back again, I know when to play it safe!  Honestly while do so I really wasn’t that upset or angry at my knitting.  I was thinking how much I’ve enjoyed this project and that I get to spend some more time knitting on it.  I guess that’s what really soft Rowan Calmer and single ply silk will do to your head! Bonus is my fair isle technique has gotten better, if you look carefully you can actually tell the dashes are a bit bumpy, but the dots look lovely.

I spend all of today knitting on my Norwegian Goth while waiting in doctor’s offices since Mini-me has three appts. in a row!  Good thing that two of them were in the same office and I had brought my knitting.  I had a chat with another person about knitting, but this is a long post today.  I’ll save it for another day.  Here’s a picture of my progress so far, I just have some more repeats of the fair isle pattern, some stripes then the grafting together of the two ends to do.  I can’t wait to wear this infinity scarf, since we’ve been through a lot together and we both need some snuggle time!

3 Responses

  1. You have much more patience than me for ripping back. Kudos (and cookies) for you. I LOOOOVE the beautiful contrasty-pop between the black and the purple. SO Gorgeous!

  2. I don’t know if I would have ripped it out, but it does look great now!

  3. I love the purple/black combination. And you’re so very brave for ripping it. I don’t know that I could have done it. Not without a glass of wine, anyhow. lol

Leave a Reply

