• Knit and Crochet Photos

  • February 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  
  • Meta

  • All graphics and texts displayed on this website are protected by copyright and may not be copied, mirrored, reproduced, altered or redistributed in any form without the written permission of the copyright holder. By entering this website, you signify your agreement to abide bythese terms of use. Copyright© 2006-2010 Chelle K. aka blindpurls All Rights Reserved

all apologizes

I’ve been dealing with some stuff as well as taking forever to recover from the cold of DOOM (think of Invader Zim saying this.)

Sad news is I’ve made the decision to retire my guide dog Maylee due to her allergies.  I’ve been struggling with this decision since she was diagnoised with allergies, we are dealing with it by allergy shots and anti-histamines and it has gotten better; however not enough that it will not affect her when she is working.  I have put a lot of things in my life on hold hoping that it will get better enough to be able to pick them up again and I realized that it’s time to face the fact that this may never happen if we continue to be a working team.  I’m heartbroken, but I’m also relieved that I’ve finally made a choice.  In the long run, it’s a good decision for the both of us, there is a possiblity that Maylee can be a guide dog for a person in a low pollen area or be a canine companion or even a happy retired spoiled pet.  I will miss her emmensely and it will take some time to get over having to give her up especially since she is my first guide, but I know that no matter where she ends up she will be loved and happy.  I’ve applied for a retrain class to get a new guide and I just need to go through the interview sessions again, as well as some more paperwork.  I will continue to work with Maylee till I go to class, so it’s not goodbye yet.

Now for the good news!  I got a wonderful cocoa swap package from Monica She had to hide the fact that she was spoiling me and I’m sure that was hard especially since we see each other at knitting meetups.  I recall joking with her at one that I saw her little tease closeup picture and that I was going to comment on her post that it looks like she was making a mini-maylee.  Well guess what I was correct!!  Thanks Monica, Mini-Maylee will give me comfort when I no longer have Maylee to hug.  😦  Maylee loves her mini-me as well.  Here are some pictures of her and Mini-me.

Maylee with Mini-Maylee

Maylee with Mini-Maylee

Monica spoiled me rotten with yummy coconut chai breakfast cakes that she made herself, they were delicious!  Some camino dark cocoa mix that is lactose free, oh so tasty, I used some in some comfort brownies today and it was heaven.  Some yummy yarn Tatamy Tweed and Maizy.  Lol, now I know why you were complaining about a lot of the yarn we talk about at knitting meetup is hard to find in the Lower Mainland, see the internets are a good thing most of my yarn is purchased online.  An awesome sheep mug (that she teased me with the last knitting meetup I saw her at!), beautiful stitchmarkers that she made herself, cute tissues, super cute stationary paper, an adorable rubber duckie in a tux, bottle of hazelnut flavouring from Starbucks (thanks Monica you knew I wanted to try some at home!), lovely smelling lavendar soap (not to strong!  perfect) and crystalized ginger.  Also she included a sock pattern, the recipe for the tasty breakfast cakes and vegan whipped cream!  Plus she sent some goodies for Mini-me and His Tallest, some Hersey’s milk chocolate (sadly His Tallest can’t have lactose either so Mini-me happily ate it all, to save him for the milk ingredients, of course) and a “OMG IT’S SO ME AND CUTE” is what Mini-me said when she saw the pretty purple watch Monica sent for her. She loves it and says lots of thanks, hugs and squees. Thank you so much Monica you are an awesome spoiler and friend.  I apologize for the lateness of this post.

6 Responses

  1. Oh, hun. I’m so sorry you’re having to make that decision. I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts.

    Monica spoiled you rotten, it seems! She’s a sweetie. 🙂

  2. YAY! I am soooo glad you liked it. I’m so sorry about Maylee, but the great thing is that she’s really enjoyed her time with you I’m sure. And of course you’ll always have Mini-Maylee. I love the photos of the two of them together.

    I’m really glad everything worked out with the package (no death due to hidden lactose, or closing airways from animal fibres). I tried to find the Bamboo Soy Sock from Crystal Palace that you wanted to try, but the shop that *said* they had it was closed for an emergency (when I went down to the states shopping). So I ended up going to a different shop in Bellingham (where I saw that Harry Potter sock yarn I tagged you in Facebook).

    Gawd you have no idea how difficult it was keeping the secrets from you! I even told Julia when you went to get your drink at Calhoun’s. We should get together for tea when you’re feeling up for it — let me know what your schedule is like!

  3. What a terrific swap package!

    I’m so sorry about Maylee. it sounds like this is the best course of action for both of you, though.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about Maylee! That must be so hard for you. I hope she can go on to help others and make them happy.

    Hope you feel better soon. 🙂

  5. Sob! I’m heartbroken for you. What a hard decision you had to make. I hope I get to see you when you come to retrain. I know Maylee will go into a great situation no matter what she becomes – guide or pet.

    Still…

  6. Awwwww! I’m sorry to hear about you and Maylee parting ways. In the end it will be better for both of you. Give her a hug from me.

    You got some wonderful gifts to play with while you GET BETTER!!

Leave a Reply

