• Knit and Crochet Photos

  • December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Meta

  • All graphics and texts displayed on this website are protected by copyright and may not be copied, mirrored, reproduced, altered or redistributed in any form without the written permission of the copyright holder. By entering this website, you signify your agreement to abide bythese terms of use. Copyright© 2006-2010 Chelle K. aka blindpurls All Rights Reserved

Confessions of a new lace addict

I hope everyone is enjoying the holidays.  We are!  Knitting time is being stolen by videogames, mainly Rockband.  Mini-me got Rockband for x-mas and since then we’ve been having lots of fun!  I love to sing and some of my favourite songs are on the set list!  I can sing Radiohead’s “Creep” on expert with around 95% or more accuracy.  Folks not the easiest feat seriously!  I never really took singing lessons, but I love to sing!  X-mas dinner was at my house this year and my brother, Mini-me, His Tallest, Mr. Cow (family friend) and I took turns rocking out on the addictive video game before and after dinner  So much fun, we are so easily amused.  My mom had fun as our audience, but she didn’t want to play — oh well not everyone can be peer-pressured to live out their fantasy of being a rock star! We’ve had too much snow making it easier to stay in the house and do things like read and play video games, inbetween eating tasty leftovers.

I am still knitting and I’ve casted on for  two lace projects since I am participating in Season of Lace — the winter edition. The first one is a late Christmas present for my daughter. Porom is a lovely slouchy lace hat and my daughter has been stealing mine way too much, so I’m making her one. I’m using Berroco Comfort DK in Chocolate. Here’s the cast on picture and a progress picture.

Casting on for Porom

Casting on for Porom

Progress on the Chocolate Porom Hat

Progress on the Chocolate Porom Hat

Another project I just casted on is the Forest Canopy Shawlthe yarn is Handmaiden Sea Silk in Burgandy. Yummy I love this yarn it is like knitting butter. I’ve had this pattern for a while now and finally decided to cast on this shawl for my International Scarf Exchange Pal and I will definately knit one for myself as well. I took a picture when I was one row into the body, this is going to be a fun easy knit and the pattern looks like it could be memorized once you have repeated it a few times. I think I’m going to put in a life line after every lace repeat in the body just to be safe! Once my daughter and DH are back to school and work I’m thinking on casting for my Hanami Stole, I won this pattern in the Seasons of Lace – Spring and got my beads now I just need to decide on the yarn that will match this pattern and beads!

Cast on of the Forest Canopy Shawl in Handmaiden Sea Silk

Cast on of the Forest Canopy Shawl in Handmaiden Sea Silk

Leave a Reply

