• Knit and Crochet Photos

  • September 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Meta

  • All graphics and texts displayed on this website are protected by copyright and may not be copied, mirrored, reproduced, altered or redistributed in any form without the written permission of the copyright holder. By entering this website, you signify your agreement to abide bythese terms of use. Copyright© 2006-2010 Chelle K. aka blindpurls All Rights Reserved

Bad blogger no cookie for me

Well no cookies for me is a good thing really.  Can’t have refined flours and I haven’t figured out how to bake cookies with alternative flours and stevia.  Every recipe I’ve seen needs a flour (eg. whole wheat, white flour etc..) that I can’t have!  Meh.  I have soy, amaranth, hemp, spelt and almond flour you think I could pull off cookies.  If anyone knows of a recipe I’d gladly give it a try!  We have now introduced oats back into our diet, yay oatmeal!!  Carbs I missed you; however you make me feel all lethargic and bloaty!  I’m having lots of fun with quinoa (pronouched kee-wah) and made a tasty salad with it yesterday.  I am really liking this diet and it’s making me feel a lot better.  Sadly, it doesn’t give me a whole lot of spare time, since I have to make everything from scratch and make sure I avoid all the bad foods like sugar, starches, yeasts etc… 

I have been working on the Moderne Baby Blanket for His Tallest’s cousin who’s wife is expecting.  I’m now coined this the Blankie of Garter Stitch Doom.  I have four more panels to do and they are intarsia.  I’m working on the first two of those panels and it’s taking forever, I’m so happy that it’s almost over then finish the last two panels and knit the border then I’m done!  I might even be able to finish it before the baby arrives!  I should find out L’s due date.

Since Halloween is coming up!  I have started on my Slytherin PoA house scarf.  I decided to knit it in the round and make it a skinny scarf so I’m not knitting till the last minute like last year when I was knitting Mini-me’s Ravenclaw scarf.  I decided to go all out and order a Slytherin uniform (skirt, robes, tie, prefect pin and patches) and maybe I’ll wear the socks that my HSS 4 pal is making if they make it here before Halloween if not then I’ll wear the lovely socks that Clionda Boomslang made me last term!  I digress….I’m using Bernat’s Satin touch in Evergreen and Grey Heather Mist on size 4mm needles I hope that I can get this done as well as my other knitting like my HSS4 pal’s socks (which I am designing) in time.  Oh the joys of deadlines.

4 Responses

  1. What a nice blanket! Looks nice!

  2. Oh! I’ve made one of those garter stitch of doom blankets, too! You think you’ll never get there, but you do and it looks wonderful when you’re done. Love the colors you chose!

  3. I’m not sure if you can use this, but it’s a gluten-free all-purpose flour mix. Just substitute 1/1 in place of regular all-purpose flour.

    2 cups brown rice flour
    2 cups white rice flour
    1-1/2 cups sweet rice flour
    1-1/3 cups tapioca starch or flour
    2/3 cup cornstarch
    1/2 cup rice bran or rice polish
    2 tsp xanthan gum

    I’ve used that and sucanat (dried cane juice) as a sugar substitute in zucchini bread and it’s quite tasty. I haven’t tried it with cookies, but it should work there too.

    Ooo, I have a spelt-flour cookie recipe you might try, if you can (not sure if you can have all of these ingredients):

    1-1/2 cup peanut butter (you could probably sub sunflower seed, pumpkin seed, or almond butter)
    2-1/4 cup spelt flour
    1 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp salt
    1-1/2 cup maple syrup
    2 tsp vanilla extract
    1-1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips

    Line baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray. Spoon peanut butter into microwave-safe bowl and heat on high 30-45 seconds, until melted, stirring once or twice. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Stir in peanut butter, maple syrup and vanilla until blended. Fold in chocolate chips. Drop 2 TB dough for each cookie onto baking sheet and flatten slightly. Bake 15-17 minutes at 375 degrees F. Cool 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack.

    I have some others around. I’ll send them to you if I find them.

    Cool blanket!

  4. Hi hon! Thanks for the comment on my blog, I appreciate it. 🙂 just fyi: I don’t have kitties! hehe.

    ❤ Hope you’re doing well and that I see you soon!

Leave a Reply

