• Knit and Crochet Photos

  • June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Meta

  • All graphics and texts displayed on this website are protected by copyright and may not be copied, mirrored, reproduced, altered or redistributed in any form without the written permission of the copyright holder. By entering this website, you signify your agreement to abide bythese terms of use. Copyright© 2006-2010 Chelle K. aka blindpurls All Rights Reserved

Socks Away!

Socks of Summer 2008 started on June 21 and I casted on two toe up socks. One is Momma Monkey’s Kaylee pattern I wanted to this pattern to be my first completed pair of toe up socks in memory of the wonderful Momma Monkey aka Gigi Silva who lost her battle with Lupus early this year. She is well known for starting Socktopia and her fantastic sock designs. I had the pleasure of ordered one of her sock bags last year after seeing the link on the Socktopia site. I love the bag, I haven’t found another sock bag that I love more. I wanted to order more earlier this year only to find that her etsy store had disappeared. Sadly very shortly after her passing was publicly announced. It’s always so sad when someone so young, talented and vibrant is taken so soon.

I choose my Whimsy Pimsy Summer Cotton Sock Club Panda Cotton in the Black Light series (June colourway). Even though you can’t see the pattern clearly because it is a self-striping yarn I couldn’t bear to frog it. When I first got the yarn in the mail the first thing I said after jumping up and down was ooohhhh shiny! This hank was destined to become secret brown coat socks. This sock qualitfies for both Socks of Summer’08 and Seasons of Lace 2008!
Kaylee socks WIP
Kaylee sock after knitting some more on it at Monday's Knitting Meetup

The other toe-up sock I am currently knitting is from my May summer cotton sock club yarn, another Panda Cotton hand-painted dyed by Whimsy Pimsy called Garden Herbs. I’m using Fleegle’s toe-up no-flap, no hassle sock pattern I love this pattern, it is so KISS (keep it simple stupid!).
plain toe up sock WIP

3 Responses

  1. I love the colourway of the new sock – very cool! :0)

  2. OOHHH! A coffee bag! Ultra cool!!

    Love both socks. Toe up is the way to go!

  3. the colorways are great! i am also starting my first toe up sock, it looks good but still feels weird, lol. What a beautiful knit project to have in memory of her.

Leave a Reply

