• Knit and Crochet Photos

  • June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Meta

  • All graphics and texts displayed on this website are protected by copyright and may not be copied, mirrored, reproduced, altered or redistributed in any form without the written permission of the copyright holder. By entering this website, you signify your agreement to abide bythese terms of use. Copyright© 2006-2010 Chelle K. aka blindpurls All Rights Reserved

WWKIP Day and more

my birthday cakeSo after trying to figure out what the heck I’m going to name this post the above is all I could come up with! I want to begin with a picture of the non-lactose (ended up not being vegan because there was honey in the crust) chocolate mocha cheezecake I made for my birthday. The drink that is accompanying it is what I call Malibu Mango (it’s 1 part Malibu rum and 2 parts Mango puree shaken with ice) tasty but not as delicious as the cake. OMG it is sooo yummy and a huge hit in my house. I reminded me of a chocolate mousse cheesecake(from the Chocolate Lover’s cookbook I think I made it when I was 13) I made many, many years ago, but lactose free! I spent a nice Friday the 13th b-day with my family eating a tasty dinner and this delicious cake. I like having quiet dinners with my family instead of partying hard all night. I did a lot of partying when I was younger and it seems that I don’t feel the need to throw back lots of alcohol, dance all night and get so embarrassing wasted anymore. It’s good in a way because I don’t have to deal with the nasty hangover the next day. I did enjoy a few of those Mango drinks though, yum!

Yesterday was WWKIP day. I had a blast meeting some of the ladies from Raverly’s Terminal City Yarn Wranglers and we picked up a lovely gentleman (who also shares the same birthday as me! I so sorry I forgot your name!) at Vancouver’s Waterfront Station. He heard about WWKIP day on the CBC and decided to take his beautiful hand towel to knit out in public, so we invited him along. Well Caliope, our hostess of the Skytrain WWKIP group did the inviting and we did the urging her to! Thanks ladies and gentleman (there was six of us in total and one guide dog, my May :-)) it was a blast even if our plans were somewhat ruined by a medical emergency at Metrotown Station that backed up trains, cut off service to downtown Vancouver on the Expo line and killed out 2 pm run! These pictures where taken by Caliope (used with permission and edited by me in Picasa) so she is not in them. I had my camera with me, but didn’t actually take it out oops.



I appreciate all the people who have signed up for my blogiversary/birthday contest I’ve had lots of entries and I apologize if you haven’t gotten a personal reply from me I tried to do so for everyone at first but I found it overwhelming and too much time for me. So thank you everyone who has entered and even if I don’t get back to you if you told me in the comments what you wanted to be entered to win consider yourself entered. Good luck everyone and the winners will be announced at the end of June or slightly later.

Lastly I leave you with a picture of my lasted FO, it’s been a long time coming it’s my Grass Monkeys (Rav link) I’ll post details when I get a chance in the next post!

3 Responses

  1. Sounds like you had a fun birthday! And a great WWKIP day!

    Can you believe I didn’t do a SINGLE STITCH of knitting on Saturday?

  2. Glad to hear you had a great Bday! I’ve been so uninspired lately I didn’t knit at all on Saturday… but I did help out a lot and did some crafty stuff!

  3. I love your Monkey socks. Love the black added to it! WHat a great idea. I’ll have to remember that for a future pair of socks!

Leave a Reply

