• Knit and Crochet Photos

  • March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • All graphics and texts displayed on this website are protected by copyright and may not be copied, mirrored, reproduced, altered or redistributed in any form without the written permission of the copyright holder. By entering this website, you signify your agreement to abide bythese terms of use. Copyright© 2006-2010 Chelle K. aka blindpurls All Rights Reserved

Book through Thursday – Cover-up

This week’s question comes from Julie, who asks:

While acknowledging that we can’t judge books by their covers, how much does the design of a book affect your reading enjoyment? Hardcover vs. softcover? Trade paperback vs. mass market paperback? Font? Illustrations? Etc.?

Now that I’m not reading regular books anymore I don’t have to worry about covers and them ruining or enchancing my enjoyment. I’m a tradepaperback girl at heart still though. It’s the best of both worlds and the font size is usually so much easier for me to read. Font size or lack of a good readable font size has been the bane of my reading pleasure for a while now. I’m legally blind, so at first I believed that my problems reading a lot of fonts and font sizes in many of the books I loved were just my eye’s not being what they were. I found out after questioning many other readers I know that this is not the cause 98% of the time. Publishers are trying to save costs and I hope trees by using smaller size fonts. This is a problem for me and probably a lot of other people out there who love to read and read till we have major eye strain induced headaches. Now that I have my Cybook Gen 3 e-book reader I am in heaven I can put the font to the font I want, I can enbold the print as well as enlarge it!! Plus it’s just slightly smaller than my favourite size of book, the trade paperback. I love the trade paperbacks because they are so much easier to read lying in bed than hardbacks with the usually larger fonts and now I have everything I want minus the dusty books collecting even more around my house. Now only if I could get all the books I, my partner and daughter own in txt, html or mobipocket format without paying yet again for a copy of the books we have!!

As for picking books by their covers, brighter and/or shiny covers get my attention  especially if there are dragons; however it only gets me to read the back cover or the inner jacket to really decide if I’m going to read that book or not.  I pick up books with ugly looking or boring covers, but just not as fast as the ones that I’m drawn to like a magpie to shiny!

One Response

  1. I tend to like paperbacks much more because they’re easier to tote around with you and a lot more pliable. The cover art does influence me a bit too, which is probably a bad thing – I’ve read so many bad books with awesome covers and not a lot of good books with great covers.

Leave a Reply

